The “you snooze you lose” protocol

17 Jan

In my home, we have something the “you snooze you lose” protocol.

Its very simple: if you sleep past 9am, you miss out on the chance to get in on the morning driver-slicing.
Example: this morning I was planning on going to Athr Gallery for a talk im interested in. My sister wanted to have breakfast at my uncle’s house and I knew my mom wanted to go buy some material for new abayas. Both my sister and I were up and about by 8:30 am, but my mom wasn’t up till 9:30, early enough to wave good morning and goodbye to use from her breakfast table but too late to catch a ride. Yep, even mumsy, the queen of the house has to go by that rule. God knows I’ve been left behind plenty enough times.

Now try explaining to your friends why even though you don’t have a desk job you still have to be up by 8:30 am if you want to have any driver-rights.

Most just shake their heads and laugh. Or nod knowingly if they live here.

One Response to “The “you snooze you lose” protocol”

  1. Hkhalawi January 17, 2013 at 2:51 pm #

    I have been shown in no uncertain terms that it is I who must work around the driver’s schedule:
    10:00 am window of opportunity
    10:30 to 11:30 am breakfast out with our car
    11:30 to 12:00 window of opportunity
    12:00 to 1:30 pm dhuhr prayer time
    1:30 to 2:00 window of opportunity( stores are closed)
    2:00 to 3:00 pm+ lunch out with our car
    3:00 to 4:00 pm window of opportunity ( stores closed)
    4:00-5:00 pm aser prayer time
    5:00 to 6:30 pm window of opportunity
    6:30-7:00 Maghreb prayer time
    7:00 to 8:00 pm window of opportunity
    8:00 to 9:00 pm esha prayer
    9:00 pm till 12… Where do I go? I have 3 full hours of driver availability. Oops. I forgot his dinner hour outing with our car.

Leave a Reply

