I’m Back.

14 Jan

In KSA, that is. On day 3 I had a fight with the current driver (some new guy, so its inevitable a power struggle happens), and on day 6 I had a “Oh God what have I done, why did I come back” breakdown/moment.

Now I’m just throwing myself at work and family and slowly starting to see my friends again after hiding in bed for about a week (I’m not cut out for depression).
So now I have daily new material to entertain you girls with, plus all the new news on the “will we ever drive” scene.

Oh, and a few days ago I wanted to go to this new cafe I heard so much about only to find not one, but TWO Hay’aa 4x4s parked outside! Needless to say, I just told the driver to drive on. Couldn’t be bothered to deal with the drama so early in my return honestly… dammit I missed out on a good breakfast!

My personal theory is that the day the Govt announces great steps in the reform of women’s rights here, the Hay’aa goes out the next day to flex their muscles, take revenge and prove they still exist. Like the announcement the day before about making 20% of The Shoura council women and announcing the names of those women. In theory that’s great progress, but honestly I’ve yet to see any real change come out of the Shoura council to believe that they have any influence in anything at all. The day after that announcement was the first time I’ve ever seen the Hay’aa that far north in Jeddah. Revenge. But that’s just my personal opinion.

Back to the driving stuff…. Stay Tuned…

One Response to “I’m Back.”

  1. Heidi Khalawi January 14, 2013 at 8:21 pm #

    I was just “back” as well. Day 1: I had a doctor’s appointment. As I waited to fill my prescriptionI could observe my driver waiting outside. I heard the Magreb call to prayer and immediately contacted him, letting him know that I need only a few more minutes before we would be leaving. A minute later I see my driver walking in front of me in the clinic. I asked him where he was going as I wanted to leave. He replied in a loud voice, he wanted to go to the hammam. And then he repeated himself in English, “BATHROOM”. In front of a crowd of people. I exited quickly and waited. And waited. And waited. At least 15 minutes.In the street. I called several times, no answer. He finally appeared and asked him why I had been waiting in the street . He told me that I should have a key so that I could wait in my car.
    As I arrived at my house I told the driver that we would leave immediately after salat. “You haven’t prayed yet?” He retorted.
    A short while later I found myself giving directions to a material store. I entered the store, noticing that my car had the lights on and the windows closed with the driver inside the whole time I was inside. As I got into my car I mentioned to the driver that there was no reason to keep the engine and AC on when I leave the car.On the way to my next stop I tell the driver to slow down. He proceeds to drive with the emergency light on. I bite my tongue. I observe the driver entering the store I go into and flopping himself down on a chair, his legs sticking out in the walkway. I was embarrassed. “Yalla” I say, as I exit. I am angry.

    Day 2: I’m looking for something specific for my AC.I give directions.As the driver turns onto a busy Madina Road, he switches on the emergency light again. I ask him why. He replies:”Drivers in Saudia are donkeys”. Hmm. I tell him to turn it off since the car is not having an emergency. He argues. I tell him that I realize he does not like taking orders from a woman but that I have been driving since I was 16 and that I am well aware of traffic rules and regulations. He reluctantly turns off the emergency light as I fume in the back.

    A day later I hear about a woman who was raped by a taxi driver on her way back from umra. My driver problems appear trivial. How many rapes occur here because women and their children are forced into to putting their personal safety into the hands of total strangers?

    I’m ready to leave again.

Leave a Reply

