Is It Normal That Thoughts of Going Back are giving me Anxiety?

2 Aug

So I’m due to move back in a few months, and already the idea is giving me anxiety problems. Yes I miss my friends and my crazy social life, and yes I can’t wait to join the world of the working again as I discovered I’m SO NOT an academic. (I hate being a student and as much as I’ve grown and expanded my mind not having a proper income KILLS me.) But right after these fuzzy warm feelings about home start tickling my mind the ugly thought of needing a driver rears up its head. BAM! Gone are all those feelings and something akin to the beginnings of a panic attack starts taking over. Waiting. Stress. Waiting. Feeling helpless. Useless. Anxiety. Prayertimes. Closed. Stress. Heat. No Driver. Stress. Arguments with my Mom because she’s hogging up the driver. Pressure. Anxiety. He’s not answering his phone. Anger. Wasted time. Stress!! Argument with Driver!! Anger! He ran a red light! IDIOT! Anger!! STRESS! ANGER!! RAWWWWRRRR!

and that’s when I force myself to snap back to reality and tell myself to CALM DOWN.

Ohhh what am I going to do?

5 Responses to “Is It Normal That Thoughts of Going Back are giving me Anxiety?”

  1. Sheema August 3, 2012 at 2:38 pm #

    its normal having anxiety by just living here! so of course it would be only natural to have them after getting accustomed to living in europe and then come back!
    and as for the driver issue. its about time they invent an auto car or a robot driver o yi5alli9ona !!

  2. Dina August 2, 2012 at 11:16 pm #

    Maha I felt the same way after moving to South Carolina for a year. Apparently reverse culture shock is a thing, who knew?! After the first few months of enjoying family and food and convenience I got kinda depressed do be careful not let yourself go down that path! Jusy keep yourself busy and surroundrd with friends and family, you’ll start to remember all thr good parts about being home. I, for one, can’t wait to have you back – the last year has been too Maha-less for my liking x

    • Maha August 2, 2012 at 11:25 pm #

      Aww thank you! I know that’s the only thing that makes it all worth it. My family and friends. You guys. *Huggggg*

      • Hind August 3, 2012 at 2:41 am #

        Totally normal! I get anxious whenever I return from holidays. Thing is I spend a good part of my holiday nurturing my mood and being chilled and excited about life. Then I come back here and have to be stressed about things I believe are imposed on me, usually cultural stuff and lose that spark often. What can you do about it? Deal with it when the time comes..your naturally gonna look for the positive when you get back? I’d invest time getting some driver numbers. It spared me tons of stress this Ramadan although dug in my pockets.

        And when ur back, I’ll fulfill my promise and visit you!

      • Maha August 3, 2012 at 12:18 pm #

        Lol deal! I have no idea what I’ll do. Maybe start a new walking trend. Or get one of those electric scooters! lol. or just do what I did last year and leave every other month for a long weekend.

Leave a Reply

