Darma – Part Three : Hope

18 Jun

So Thank God, nothing disastrous happened. So many “tweeps” tweeted about them driving, or their wives driving besides them, and not being harassed either by the people or the police. I think That’s a sign. A sign that the “haters” and opposers are a minority, and most people really think its a personal freedom that they don’t want to violate. A man tweeted about his wife’s drive in his car, and how they saw two police cars that “pretended not to notice” them. That got me giggling with glee!

Respect to those brave, supportive husbands. Who stood by their wives as friends and protectors at such a decisive moment. Some tweeps called for men to dress in an abaya while driving, in support of women driving and to confuse any opposers! I haven’t seen any pictures or heard any reports of that happening but it would be funny if it did!

Some of my friends bbmed me about driving from one place to another successfully, while others just asked me if i knew what was going on. Seems to most, it was just one typical lazy friday, uneventful.

One guy tweeted about his friday “khutba” (sermon). Apparently the sheikh was preaching against women driving and had the nerve to publicly make dua’a against them and the people supporting them! What an abuse of authority, to use your position as a local religious representative to call against your fellow muslims and countrymen and women. I’m personally against making dua’a against any group of people, but that’s another matter altogether.

So, what does this silence mean? well, I agree with human right’s activist Samar Badawi when she said it could mean one of two things: one, that the Authorities decided that this is a social issue and let the people fight it it themselves (a bit like my opinion in a previous post) and two, that they are undecided and are observing how the events unfold. A third and scarier option would be that women’s rights are so insignificant that they won’t even be dignified with an official answer, but that’s to depressing and scary to even contemplate.

Below is Samar’s interview with BBC Arabiya:

Most now are saying, what’s next? Well, the women2drive campaign is now asking women to bombard the “muroor” (traffic police) with calls requesting drivers licences, asking for the speaker’s name, asking why is it not allowed, and recording the whole conversation. I’m guessing this is all part of pushing the authorities to realise that many women do in fact want to drive.

3 Responses to “Darma – Part Three : Hope”

  1. April June 18, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    I drove yesterday…..Sybolically because the whole event lasted about 3 minutes and it was in the neighborhoods of Obhur. It’s 1:50pm and my Saudi daughters are due to get out of school at 2:30. I am seriously considering picking them up with my driver in the back seat. I figure that I could boot my driver out from behind the wheel about 2 blocks away and just drive to the school to let other people see that women are actually driving. Maybe it will encourage other women? I would hope, because that’s the only reason I would do it. Women driving has to be smack in the face of the public to dissolve the scare factor.

Leave a Reply

