Rain starts with a drop…

18 May

So the winds of change seem to be blowing. I know I’ve been away for a while, had a lot going on and even more going on in my head. Plus the only posts I can write about my new drive would include expletives and I really don’t want to soil my dear blog with foul language. So I’m back again with positive news!

For those of you who keep a close eye on the Saudi women driving issue, you will probably already have heard of this. A new movement to start driving anyways. For those of us who have International licenses, there is a call to unite, stop being passive and take a positive step towards exercising our human right. Just go about our normal lives, only behind the wheel. In the end, no one will give you what’s yours if you can’t step up and take it.

This call to unite, spread via Facebook, youtube and twitter has gained international attention and was aired on CNN last night.

below is a link to the youtube page, including the CNN interview.

In these times Mana al-Shareef is not the only brave heroine that has risen, Najla al-Hariri is now my heroine. She decided she isn’t going to wait until june 17th, and will start going about her daily business driving herself and her children around- effective immediately!

Najla Hariri told the French News Agency  in a telephone interview that she had been driving for four days in the streets of Jeddah, without being stopped or arrested.

Najla said: ”I’m not afraid of being stopped because I’m a role model for my daughter and for my friends. I will be remembered by my generation and I’m prepared to give driving lessons to those who want to drive.”

Here are a few links that talk about her and her ground-breaking journey. As it is with anyone who is brave enough to challenge the norm, reactions to her vary between support and attack. Hats off to her! I wish I were that brave! Being slightly older, married and with kids awards you some freedoms that being under 30 and single doesn’t.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-middle-east-13431562

http://globalvoicesonline.org/2011/05/17/saudi-arabia-a-woman-challenges-the-law-by-driving-in-jeddah/

As to myself, I sadly won’t be in the country on June 17th, the day they are calling for all women in the country to just get up and start driving. But I do intend on starting as soon as I’m back inshallah. At least my dad will be back in town and he can bail me out if worse comes to worse 🙂

In the meantime, My prayers, thoughts and full support go out to all the women who will re-shape and define our future. Love you, Allah Ma3akum. (God be with you).

you can follow najla on twitter @hariri65  or follow the women to drive movement @women2drive and keep updated with their latest, I know I will!


2 Responses to “Rain starts with a drop…”

  1. Tara Umm Omar May 18, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

    Go Najla woo hoo! I am proud of her. May Allah protect her ameen. Thanks for posting this. If my papers were in order, I would SO do this. That won’t stop me from supporting them in my heart and rooting them on from my home. I have my US license and am ready for these brave women to pave the way for me to drive too!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Women Driving In Saudi Arabia: My Personal Thoughts « Future Husbands And Wives Of Saudis (FHWS) - May 21, 2011

    […] She is no longer being controlled by fear in this country and is starting this movement with a raindrop. “The mother of five has the support of her husband and says her daughters and their friends […]

Leave a Reply

