JAL6A!!!!!

5 Apr

A “Jal6a” or “Jalta” with a heavy “t” is Arabic for a stroke. The medical kind that will land you in a hospital.  That is what I’m in danger of every time I go out with my new driver. Supposedly he’s worked in Jeddah for two years already, as a driver. In an area not too far from where I live. But subhan Allah he doesn’t know any of the main roads, and I have to direct him with every meter. LITERALLY. I can’t even bbm or make calls in the car anymore I need to keep my eye on the road as if I were driving.

here’s an example of a recent ride:

me: “OK  make a u-turn at the light so we can go home”.

he stays in the service road.

me:” Uh.. what are you doing? get on the main road so you can make that u-tun!”

he tries to get on the main road, but somehow cruises past the 1st opening… I just rolled my eyes. At the second one, he tried to cut in front of a taxi coming into our lane.

Me: “let him pass, you won’t be able to get in the left lane if you squeeze yourself in front of him!”

so he lets him pass… gets in the middle lane.

Me: Left lane! you need make u-turn!”

Him “Oooh! u-turn?!”

….

I feel bad, he’s a good guy, I can tell. But I don’t have the energy or the willpower to train someone all over again. He cuts corners when turning, doesn’t use blinkers, and breaks in the middle of the street/roundabout/intersection if i tell him he missed the turn i wanted him to make or is making a u-turn instead of a left turn.and he doesn’t speed on malek road, only on small neighborhood streets. I think he has one average speed, which is too slow for main roads and too fast for small ones. Its weird. But in his defense, he doesn’t smell, thank God!

.

Today he almost missed the turn-off to work. Its the 3rd time he takes me to work,  It got me wondering how he finds his way to my office all alone to pick me up in the afternoons. Do you think he wanders around a bit? He somehow found his way to pick me up three times, so its his 6th drive to my office in total. It’s a 10 minute drive! mostly straight. How could he forget?!I want to cry. Or jump out of a moving vehicle.

Thank God its only a trial period for a week. Somehow I doubt he’ll last beyond it.

7 Responses to “JAL6A!!!!!”

  1. Andrea May 1, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    I enjoy reading your stories. I am eagerly awaiting your next blog entry.

  2. Al Saud April 8, 2011 at 12:45 am #

    If he can make it to your work to pick you up, perhaps he is just nervous in your presence.

    • ksadriverdiaries April 13, 2011 at 3:36 pm #

      perhaps… but I’m not THAT scary ! 🙂

      • Al Saud April 17, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

        lol, so did he make it through the week or has he become history?

    • Al Saud April 26, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

      Salaam Alaikum,

      Hope you are doing well. Just came down to see if you have posted something.

      Hope to read something new soon

  3. Hind April 5, 2011 at 8:04 pm #

    Hahahaha, thanks for that. Really funny.
    Our Driver never drove in a city, I don’t know anything myself when it comes to roads. but wow, he’s good! he now knows shortcuts my brother didn’t know, he’s been with us almost a year now.One thing that annoys me is the constant miscalls i get when he has reached my whereabouts. I tend not to let him wait for long without preparing him for the wait, So he gets paranoid when i don’t answer straight away and thinks i didn’t hear him ring. I just explained to him last week that i always do hear it, and if i didn’t for any reason, i will check my phone if i am expecting him to pick me up.

    the guy even makes a habit out of keeping a spare cig packet in the car for me for an emergency. He rocks.lol BUT, sometimes he can talk too much for my taste when it’s only been 15 minutes since i got out of bed to go to work.

    • ksadriverdiaries April 6, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

      HAhahaha!!! anyone can buy your loyalty with a pack 😛
      but yeah, a good driver is priceless. The repetitive missed calls thing can get annoying esp when you’re busy. I tend 2 call back and say, “you’re here? ok cool I still need a few more minutes so just wait”

Leave a Reply

