I need a driver, driver, A driver is what i need! hey hey!

30 Mar

I’m in a bit of a pickle, as one friend put it. As you all know, my driver left. I’ve been “borrowing” my sister’s driver for the past few weeks, but now she’s back in town and my father neglected to hire a substitute…  and that leaves me…. driverless.

I sent a broadcast to all my friends last night. It went a lil’ something like this”

” Hello ppl! I need a driver asap! HELP!!!”

Some friends thought I was stranded somewhere and offered a ride, hehe… Others shared their own similar dilemmas with me. We’re ALL in this same boat together!! and it has no driver!!

Please excuse the melodrama, It’s just that I’m starting to panic since I’m at work, it’s 2:30 pm and I’m not sure yet how I’m going to get home! Plus the weekend is coming up! eeek! So many plans! my Social life!! If y’all wind up hearing about a girl who just got fed up and took the keys to one of the 4 (yes, FOUR) cars parked in the garage and drove herself around… you can say “hey! I know her! – kind of” or not.

Meanwhile, I will ask you to kindly use your Imagination here, and substitute the word “Dollar” for “driver” in the below song. This is how I’ve been hearing it all day!

4 Responses to “I need a driver, driver, A driver is what i need! hey hey!”

  1. Sara April 2, 2011 at 8:54 am #

    That’s exactly what our life is about here in Saudi !
    hopefully, one day we might get the chance to drive(in the near future inshalla !
    let me tell u a joke ! once I get my driver I put him in the driver seat like a robot , seriously he was pointless in the time I was doing the observation and the driving for him , his role was based on pressing the gas and break pedal !
    shit when we gonna take the role to do it by our self errrrrrrrrrr :S

    • ksadriverdiaries April 2, 2011 at 9:23 am #

      haha, yes I know exactly what you mean! I remember once seeing a caricature that illustrated a similar situation.

  2. Pamella April 2, 2011 at 1:59 am #

    I am interested to know more about your life on Sauidi as a woman. The media always paints one side of the picture. My husband is from Egypt, I am Canadian polish/German. I lived in Egypt last year. Although my husband is Arab and lived and worked in Saudi he is a man. Maybe I am being dramatic but I told him he will never understand what it is like to be a woman.

    So here you sit starring at 4 cars and perfectly capable to drive but not allowed. Yes?

    In Egypt I lived in a small rural village. There was not much I could do.

    • ksadriverdiaries April 2, 2011 at 9:37 am #

      haha, my mother is half polish/german! Funny coincidence 🙂
      Back to your question, well, You could get a million answers depending on who you ask, but I’ll try to keep it simple. When It comes to the day-to-day basic things, Its not very different from women all over the globe. The richer you are, the easier life is. You have T.V. Shopping, fashion, music, cooking, dining out and social obligations to no end. Every once in a while you come face-to-face with reality. When you lose a driver, when you fight with your driver, on your driver’s day off. But not just that, sometimes it happens with more serious issues like divorce, custody, “guardianship”, travel permission or marital abuse . If your father or husband protects you and shelters you from all this, then life will be pretty easy and you won’t have to see the inside of a courthouse or a government building your whole life. The worst of your problems would be a driver and even then, some families keep two or three drivers as backups so you may never be “stuck” somewhere with no ride. Those are the women who will tell you that they LIKE not being able to drive. That they don’t want to drive. But any girl who has tasted the empowering freedom of just picking up her car keys and going out, who isn’t afraid of fixing a flat or going to the garage for an oil check, will tell you otherwise.
      Hope this is a sufficient answer! and you’re right most men will never understand what it’s like to be a woman. especially a woman in the middle east and Saudi Arabia.

Leave a Reply

