I think I’ve given up hope

5 Oct

I’ve been out of the country quite often lately (thank God!) and in my travels, I’ve met a wide range of people from around the world. One common Question I get from them is this: “Don’t you think things are changing and you’ll be able to drive soon??”

I used to say yes, soon Inshallah! That was back in the naive old days…. Now i shrug and say “I’ve been hearing rumors that they’re going to allow us to drive next year for TEN years now. So I’m not holding my breath anymore.”

I still think it should happen, sooner rather than later. But honestly I remember being 16 and thinking I’ll drive myself to college everyday, haha. fat chance. That never happened. At college i used to think I’ll drive myself to work… now I’m becoming more realistic and hoping I’ll mayyybe drive my kids to school. Or watch THEM drive. That would REALLY blow. watching my teenage kids drive when I’m too old to enjoy it. But at some level I’m sure I’m a big enough person to be happy for them and proud that they got to practice a freedom at home that I was never allowed to. Right?  RIGHT?!  lol, yeah. I hope so.

I’ll probably ground them by taking away the car keys.

So back to our topic… yeah. not anytime soon I think. Sorry to be the one to burst your bubble, to all ye hopefuls out there. I’m just trying to be realistic. If you hear or receive one of those rumors via sms or bbm or email or phone call, do what I do. Laugh. It’s a joke. Or a mean prank buy some heartless jerk. But you can’t let them see that they’ve gotten to you, so just laugh!

LOL

2 Responses to “I think I’ve given up hope”

  1. Hindoosh October 5, 2010 at 5:13 pm #

    Haha .now that you mention it . It iss rude to spread such rumors. They’re having some fun on our behalf. I never really believed it. It would take much more than rumors for me to take something to heart. It won’t happen anytime soon and I’m not sticking around to find out .

Leave a Reply

