theivery

11 Apr

ok, so my sister’s driver decided to disappear end of last week. No warning, no notice, no fight, no problems. He just dropped her off at her uni, went to pick up her sister in law’s kids (they’re “sharing” a driver) took them home, told the “haris” (house guard/care taker) that he had to go to his sponsor because he broke his leg, and that he should send someone to pick my sister up (how thoughtful), drove her car to her house, left the keys in his room, and disappeared. Oh, and he took her 15″ MackBook with him. With all her work, all her pictures, her entire LIFE on it. Just like that, Gone. No explanations, no reasons.

For the first several hours, when no one picked her up and his phone was off, my sister was worried about him. she got a ride home from a friend, but worried that he had been in an accident or something, that he was dead, that he was hurt. Then she remembered her laptop… started panicking. (yes, i agree its not very smart to leave it in the car in the 1st place, even if she DID hide it under the seat, but she TRUSTED him. I never would ) The Apartment building guard called to say that her car was home, and they keys in the empty driver’s room. no laptop in the car.

That’s when the frantic search for the driver and the missing laptop begins. My sister was in a panic, swinging between praying to God that her laptop is returned, to hoping whoever goes through her laptop has his eyes gauged out and goes blind, and back to praying it just comes back to her and that’s all she wants.

Then she decided to have a talk with her apartment building’s guard, to ask him a few questions to maybe get a better picture about what happened. Why didn’t he call them when he saw her driver take all his things from his room, when did he bring the car back, was he with anyone, did he say anything to him… etc. She then, on a hunch, decided to leave a message that might be passed on. Using the carrot and the stick, she told him that if he knows anyone that might pass on the message, to tell him that the police are looking for him, and if he is caught he faces getting his hand chopped off and jail (yep, she said that. lol. i find that funny, that she thought it a valid threat since i cant remember the last time that punishment was used in Saudi). On the other hand, if he returned the laptop, they wont look for him anymore and all is forgiven. She also added a last bit to appeal to his humanity: that she worked with disabled children and all her research info was on her laptop (true) and that if that info isnt returned they will be harmed and might even die (yes, my darling sis has a flair for the dramatic).

Wonder of wonders, It was “dropped off” at the dry cleaner’s next door the next morning, and a call was placed to the apartment guard to let him know it was returned. My sister, true to her word, happily let the search for him drop (not that it was really serious in the 1st place). It seems that happens a lot here, minor crimes being forgiven as soon as the issue has passed. even not-so-minor ones. To me, It just means that its going to happen again, and maybe more serious next time. I’m not so forgiving.

But I’m happy for her. Hamdillah she got it back, wheather it was her prayers, the carrot or the stick, or maybe all three combined, something highly imrpobable happened. Hamdillah 🙂

7 Responses to “theivery”

  1. MBN May 31, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

    I had the same thing happen to me but my driver stole all my camera gear including my laptop but he actually went into the house when noone was there and took all of my gear specifically.

    http://mbnphotography.blogspot.com/2008/05/theft.html

  2. Anon April 11, 2010 at 5:20 pm #

    It seems to me that you treat your driver like sh*t, and you’re lucky you live in Saudi Arabia because in any civilized society around the world your treatment of these people would constitute abuse of thier civil rights and you’d probably end up in jail.

    Get off your high horse and start putting yourself in place of these poor laborors that work 16 hours a day and never hear a positive word coming out of their masters mouth. You could easly have your driver arrested and prosecuted becuase he stole your sisters laptop – but what would happen to you if he went and complained that you haven’t paid him in 2 months (btw, a form of theft)? I’ll tell you – absolutely nothing, and maybe you’d even deport him as retribution. So seriously, get off your high horse, you sound like a selfish spoiled little girl all over this blog.

    • ksadriverdiaries April 11, 2010 at 6:14 pm #

      wow, talk about aggressive.
      okay, first things first: Thank you for making all kinds of assumptions about me. starting from how i treat my driver (which is normally very polite unless he’s running red lights trying to kill us, or passive-aggressive outright ignoring me, which i don’t think any employee is allowed to do anywhere. I’d definitely get sacked if i did that @ my job) And ending by getting his wages on time. (I’m not debating whether it happens in Saudi or not, but it definitely doesn’t happen in my household).
      You took the liberty of assuming way to many things about me & my ethics, and honestly I don’t think that’s very fair.
      Second, If you are a woman (which you somehow sound like one) then you’re welcome to come swap places with me and see how you like being forced to rely upon someone who doesn’t speak english or arabic properly for the tiniest errand. (They all say they can speak english in their application forms). If you are man, you’ll never understand what its like for us here.
      And last but not least, I TOTALLY AGREE WITH YOU. Having one driver take me and my mother all around town is long hours. lots of waiting, and If i had no respect for human rights, inhumane. Unfortunately, I cant afford the visa and wages of a second. I do what i can to send him home early and catch a ride with someone else, but I have no intention of becoming a hermit because my country sees me unfit to drive.
      That’s the whole point of this blog: showing the waste of time, energy and money it is to force women to be driven by drivers. (not to mention the unfairness for both sides involved, women and drivers).

    • Anon April 12, 2010 at 7:08 pm #

      Dont take what I said personal.

      First: I did not make any assumptions about you – I merely read through your blog and concluded that people dont like working with you (either that, or you’re incredibly unlucky). Most of the people I know in Saudi have had the same drivers/maids for ages – probably because they treat them well.

      Second: I did not say you didn’t pay him – I just pointed out that if you decided not to, there is no recourse for him and he will just have to live with it and get over it. This is un-Islamic and you know it. Meanwhile, you can destroy this mans life with a mere phonecall.

      Third: I understand women want to drive in KSA – it’s an activity that almost every human looks forward to when they’re young. However, taking sh*t about your drivers is not the way you’re going to make a change. By doing that you’re treating (or attempting to treat) a symptom of the problem and not the cause. You want to drive becuase you beleive its your right and that you’re fully capable – not becuase your drivers cant speak english, or doesnt listen to what you say, or becuase you think its a waste of money (which by the way I find laughable – especially when you look at how much the alternative will cost…and yes, I read your “numbers”post, which I also found very entertaining).

      I’m not putting you down – I look forward to the day that women drive here…just dont spread the blame of this situation on the incorrect people, after all, you’re the ones that hired all of them.

      • ksadriverdiaries April 13, 2010 at 10:13 am #

        LOL, we’ve had our maids for at least ten years. Same went for our driver till he had to retire last sept. Bring in my current driver, who is the inspiration behind this blog. My dad refuses to send him back because a) he doesn’t deal with him, so its not his blood pressure on the line, and b) he doesn’t want to pay the visa fee again for another driver. So allow me to say that your “conclusions” aren’t so accurate after all. After a lifetime of dealing with drivers, the few incidents I post here are nothing. And ask your friends who’ve had their drivers for years, I’m sure they have some strange stories with them too. They’re welcome to share them here if they want.
        Second: I’m not responsible for the unethical and unislamic laws (or lack of) in this country. I have no say in shaping them. Just because I have the “power” to destroy someone’s life doesn’t mean I’ve ever done it. So, granted I have that “power” that we both agree is unislamic, what’s your point? I’m just as blameless as he is.
        Third: That’s your opinion and you’re entitled to it. Glad i entertained you, like i wrote in my intro, that’s the purpose of this blog.
        One last point: No one blamed the DRIVERS for this situation, I have no idea where you deduced that. I’ve always been clear that I’m just venting about a seriously retarded situation that most of us women are stuck in here in Saudi (except for the lucky few that can afford to have their personal dedicated driver). I just don’t think you can relate since you obviously haven’t lived in our shoes. So chill.

  3. randa baruni April 11, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

    wow, cant believe u didnt mention this before! he MEANT to steal the laptop?? why?!! how ridiculous

    • ksadriverdiaries April 11, 2010 at 5:04 pm #

      just happened last wed. We think he stole it to sell it? maybe he needed the money?

Leave a Reply

