My driver has been oddly well-mannered lately….

23 Jan

usually when this happens, it sets off alarm bells. Like when you’re a mother and your kids are unusually quiet, you KNOW they’re up to no good.

Then again, it could be caused by the last blow-up I had with him… the reason I decided to start this blog in the first place.

Technically, it wasnt a full-blown fight. More like an internal meltdown. I was very careful not to let any of it out.

It all started the night before, when I had him drop me off at the mall to meet my mom and brother. and hour later when I wanted to leave, he wouldn’t pick up his phone. 4 missed calls. Luckily I went back with my brother, but the driver didn’t know who was at the mall with me, if anyone. So for all practical purposes, I could have been stranded there with no ride out. My mom called him, my dad called him… no answer.

And hour and a half later (11:3- pm) , I get a 1-ring from him (the signal that he’s outside and waiting). I’ll be damned if I call him back. Another 1-ring five minutes later… and another in another 5. The 4th call was a full-ringing one. I ignored that too. I figured he could wait there all night for all I cared. I’m not sure when he went back home, but the next morning, he was there, ready to take me to work as usual.

I get in the car, say good morning like nothing happened, and tell him to go to work. As he drove out of out neighborhood, the following semi-monologue took place:

Me (very calmly) : What happened to you last night?

Him: uuhh… I left phone in car.

Me: Okay, why did you do that? How was I supposed to find you? look for you in the parking lot?

him: …..

Me: I’d like an answer, Why did you leave your phone in the car?

him:…..

Me: Do you understand my question? yes or no?

Him: …….

At this point I was struggling to keep my voice even: *Driver*, Are you ignoring me?

Him: …..

(he totally ignored me. had the review mirror twisted at a weird angle so I couldn’t catch his eye)

Me: Answer me.

Him: …..

By now, I was expanding a Herculean effort not to tell him to pull the f*** over, get out of the F***ing car, and drive myself to work.

I could feel the rage fighting against the seams of my control. So I leashed it in, decided I’d get back at him for this later, and said in a deadly calm voice: You are the Rudest Person I have ever met.

I then turned on the CD player and blasted some house track on a level that was loud enough to bother him that time of the morning. small comfort. Was it too much to mumble out a “I’m sorry , i forgot it” ??

what a jerk.

ffft! I’m all angry again now. I’m on the lookout for a new driver. As soon as I find one I will enjoy every moment of telling him to go back where he came from and learn some manners (plus how to drive) before looking for another job. He has this habit of hitting curbs while making left turns. its crazy my poor car is suffering all kinds of abuse on his hands.

And that situation lead me to wonder, How many of you out there were forced to eat humble pie for the same reason. forced to bite their tongues and control their tempers because if they kicked the jerk out they’d be stuck without a ride??

How many on the other hand said F*** it and gave him what he deserved regardless??

lol. I’d be interested to know.

3 Responses to “My driver has been oddly well-mannered lately….”

  1. April Tosch February 10, 2010 at 10:56 am #

    I only had one driver who ignored my calls….once. The next day I sent him on errands from morning until the evening, tying up all the loose ends like grocery shopping, picking up dry cleaning, etc. I made sure I got everything done and then I fired him at 11pm that evening. End of story.

    I can totally relate to drivers not being able to drive properly. My snot-rocket driver just really didn’t know how to drive well. He wasn’t doing it on purpose, he just didn’t know how to properly navigate roads safely and I have 4 kids to worry about.

    So, we were in South Obhur once close to Malek road and I booted him out of the car in to the passenger seat and gave him driving lessons myself. Other people on the road were a bit tripped but they didn’t bother me.

  2. Hind January 24, 2010 at 1:36 am #

    Ouch!gowiyya-came back where he came from-

    i understand the dilemma, i think u got back at him when you didn’t answer the phone..he probably waited there for a while. and maybe u can let him wait for you another time by telling him youll be away for 10 min and stay an hour or two.but then again he might think you’ll always do that and ignore your phone calls some more !!
    he probably didn’t answer the phone cuz he was out with friends.or doing his own thing. Good thing u didn’t let it go.

  3. Noura January 23, 2010 at 6:07 pm #

    That sucks! :S
    I know how you feel, I simply feel ‘disabled’ when I am in Jeddah not able to do anything without depending on a male figure. Even if it is a worthless one.. Hang in there dear, inshaAllah it will be better – I really don’t know what to say! Keep it coming, I guess..

Leave a Reply

